Skip to content

Plant-Based Junk Food: Rhythm Kale Chips

April 14, 2011

I’m a huge fan of kale.  I think its freaking’ delicious.  I’ll eat it in any form – in a soup, steamed, sauteed, baked, braised, or raw with some lemon juice.  It also happens to be one of the most nutrient-dense foods on the planet, a great source of dietary fiber, protein, folate, thiamin, riboflavin, iron, magnesium, phosphorus, vitamins A, C, K, and B6, calcium, potassium, copper, and manganese.  So what I’m saying is it’s worth eating.

I also love to snack.  Back in the days when I wasn’t thinking about nutrition I used to absolutely house bags of chips like it was my job.  Now that I realize what I was putting into my body, not so much.  But, thank the lord, there’s a solution that satisfies my love of chips and provides the nutritional benefits of kale.  Kale chips.  I’ve made some myself in the oven, but baking the kale does destroy a fair amount of its nutritional value (most of the vitamins and phytochemicals mentioned above are extremely sensitive to heat).

That’s where Rhythm Superfoods Kale Chips come in. They’re raw and dehydrated, so they have the crispy  consistency of a chip, yet all the enzymes and micronutrients still intact from the kale.  They’re definitely the best brand of kale chips I’ve found.  My favorite is the Zesty Nacho, although the Bombay Curry and Kool Ranch are also awesome.  Buy them at Whole Foods (and I think they’re at some Ralphs stores in LA too).  Check out the website to see where they’re sold and give them a whirl. If you like kale, I guarantee you’ll polish off a bag of them in under 10 minutes.

http://rhythmsuperfoods.com/

No comments yet

Leave a comment